First of all, I’d like to say – I’m back!  After a very busy 2+ months I have returned to blogging.  I would also like to say to whomever has been visiting this site in my absence; thank you for your loyalty… new stuff is on its way!  And so we begin…

Back in November, I posted a blog called “The Perfect Product” in which I highlighted my overwhelming desire to purchase items solely based on their package design.  This urge I have to buy beautifully designed products has once again worked out in my favor, and I feel it is necessary to share my find.

Like many, I enjoy a nice glass of wine on occasion, but (despite having taken a wine tasting class back in college) still know little about the subject.  Due to my lack of wine knowledge, I tend to choose my wine selection based on the label that’s wrapped around the product I intend to consume.  Admittedly, this puts a great deal of faith on my end that the body of the wine-  its aroma, flavor, finish, etc… follows suit with whomever the company has hired in their graphics and marketing department.  Luckily in the case of my last find, it did.

Below are a few wine labels that I believe are worthy of acknowledgment; be it for their unusual packaging, their bold graphics, or just their overall quirkiness.

Educated Guess | It’s a little witty and a little scientific, but mostly a really well designed label.  This particular wine is what inspired me to write this blog.  I highly recommend it.

(oops) Wine | There is a reason some Merlots don’t taste quite like the others; it’s because they’re not. Carmenère grapes and the Merlot grapes grew freely amongst each other, and were believed to be the same grape… until 1994.  Oops.

Lazarus Wine | Sensorial Wine Making is a method pioneered by Antonio Tomás Palacios.  He discovered while working with a blind winemaker, that they were able to detect subtle changes and aromatic differences in the wine earlier than he and other skilled winemakers could.  Due to this discovery, Lazarus Wine employs blind winemakers thus perfecting the taste of their product.  Along with this wines outstanding flavor, comes an outstanding and beautifully designed label.  A tip of my hat to you.

B Frank | This witty label allows you not only decide your reason drinking with a friend, but gives you a place to tell them.

Esule Wine | Beautifully bold, black & white pop-art graphics adorn this jet black wine bottle giving it a retro twist to a modern design.  Love.

Inkwell Wine | A clever take on the Rorschach tests, this label is simple, but bold enough to grab your attention.  What do you see?